Skip to main content

Become a CRNA Student Nurse Resident Preceptor

Receive monetary incentives for your time and efforts as a preceptor for anesthesia nursing student residents.

We are now accepting submissions for the 2024-2025 academic year.

  • The academic year reimbursement cycle: July 1, 2024 to May 1, 2025
  • Please follow instructions carefully when applying for reimbursement.

Academic Year 2024-2025 reimbursement cycle information:

  • You must complete at least 80 hours of precepting clinical instruction per year.
  • The deadline to apply for the grant reimbursement for the academic year is May 1, 2025.
  • Deadline is firm. We must receive all required documents and information by this date to qualify for reimbursement.

CRNA Grant Informational Sessions

  • July 25, 2024 at 1:00 p.m. (Date rescheduled  due to conflicting meetings)
  • August 28, 2024 at 1:00 p.m.
  • September 25, 2024 at 1:00 p.m.
  • October 30, 2024 at 1:00 p.m.

Join Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 849 8435 4531
Passcode: 066636

Washington State CRNA Student Nurse Preceptorship Grant

The 2024 Washington Legislature passed Engrossed Substitute Bill 6286 providing funding of $160,000 to the WABON to develop a grant program to provide funding to Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) nurses who volunteer to precept anesthesia nursing student residents in health care settings.

Washington State CRNA Student Nurse Resident Preceptor Grant

The goal of the preceptor grant program is to:

  • Help address a shortage of clinical placements CRNA residents.

Who is eligible?

  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) nurses

Local, State, and Federal government nursing employees:

  • You should consider contacting your local, state, or federal employer to confirm that accepting a grant payment is not in violation of ethics laws, such as the Code of Ethics for Municipal Officers, RCW 42.23, the Ethics in Public Service Act, RCW 42.52, or the Supplementation of Federal Salary Prohibition in the United States Code, 18 U.S.C. 209.

All nursing employees:

  • You should consider discussing the preceptor grant with your employer prior to applying for or accepting grant payment.  Some employers may have policies that prohibit an employee from accepting payment as a term of employment. 

Requirements to be a CRNA student nurse resident preceptor.

To be a nurse preceptor you must:

  • Have an active license.
  • Have at least one year of clinical or practice experience.
  • Be employed at an approved practice site.

More information:

To qualify for the reimbursement, you must:

  • Meet all requirements to be a student nurse anesthesia preceptor.
  • Volunteer to be a student nurse preceptor with your employer.
    • Employer must be an approved practice site by an approved education program.
  • Complete at least 80 qualifying hours of precepting clinical instruction per year 

In addition, your clinical practice hours must:

  • Occur in a facility approved by a Washington State nursing program.
    • Out-of-state programs don't qualify, even if the clinical hours take place in Washington.

Qualifying Precepting Hours:

  • The following qualify for precepting clinical hours:
    • direct patient care which includes patient teaching.
    • Precepting hours can be obtained in various clinical settings such as: perioperative services, pain clinic, ER, labor & delivery and surgery centers
    • Call hours or standby hours do not count towards the minimum 80 hour per year requirement unless you are called in for direct patient care and/or patient                                                                                                 
  • Hours should be recorded in minimal increments of 30 minutes for the purpose of documentation of precepted hours on the Preceptor Verification of Hours Form

How to apply for reimbursement 

You can apply for reimbursement only for the current cycle. Previous cycles won't be accepted. See Reimbursement Cycles below for timeframes and deadlines. 

  1. Register for a Statewide Vendor Number (SVN) with the Office of Financial Management (OFM) via the Vendor/Payee Registration Form.
    • You must get a personal SWV (we don't accept Business SWVs).
    • It can take up to 10 business days to get.
    • You only need to apply once - it doesn't expire.
    • You must update your SWV number registration information every 2 years to be valid.
    • Contact OFM for any contact information changes, such as address, email, phone, etc.
    • Tips on Registering for your Statewide Vendor Number (PDF)
  2. Preceptor Verification of Hours Form
    • Ensure the total hours reported on the form is a minimum of 80 hours.
    • All forms must be typed, no handwritten document will be accepted.
    • Upload the completed and signed Preceptor Verification of Hours form signed by the resident coordinator.
  3. Complete the online CRNA Preceptor Hours Reporting Form on the CRNA Preceptor Grant website by cycle deadline and upload the completed and signed Preceptor Verification of Hours form as a file document in the online application on Survey Monkey before submitting.

All documentation due May 1, 2025.

The payment amount of the grant will be equally distributed to each preceptor at the end of the fiscal year.

Reimbursement Resources

Preceptor Resources

Online training resources and information on being a preceptor.

Preceptors: Helping new nurses transition to practice

Free self-paced learning module from WABON. 

  • Developed using materials developed by Shandra L. James, DNP, RN, and the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).
  • Overview of the wide range of roles and responsibilities of the preceptor and suggestions about how to fulfill each role.

Go to course: Preceptors: Helping New Nurses Transition to Practice

Preceptor Education Program (PEP)

Free self-directed interprofessional program created by Western University in Canada.

  • 8 interactive learning modules
  • Modules include downloadable resources, learning exercises, video case scenarios, and references. 

Go to modules: Preceptor Education Program (PEP)

FAQs

What is a nursing preceptor?

A nursing preceptor is a practicing licensed nurse who provides personal instruction, training, and supervision for nursing students during clinical rotations.

How many times can I apply for this grant?

You can apply for this grant once a year. Deadline for submission is May 1, 2025.

I did not get my payment. What do I do?

Payments can take up to 8-10 weeks after each reimbursement cycle. Please contact the Preceptor Program directly if you have any questions regarding your payment. WABONPreceptorship@doh.wa.gov.

Is the grant taxable?

The grant funds are taxable. You will receive a 1099-NEC (Non-Employee Compensation) form during tax season. For any other tax questions, please consider contacting a tax advisor.

How much is the grant payment?

The legislature allocated $160,000 to be equally distributed to each preceptor. The final grant amount will be dependent on how submissions are received and approved for payment. The grant will be disbursed at the end of the fiscal year.

Preceptor Grant Team

  • Victoria L. Hayward, MSN, RN, CNOR
  • Kaknika Pisith, Health Service Consultant

Contact information

  • Email:   WABONPreceptorship@doh.wa.gov
  • Phone: 564-669-4870, Kaknika Pisith, Health Service Consultant
  • Phone: 564-669-1016, Victoria Hayward, MSN, RN, CNOR