Become a Nurse Preceptor for Student Nurses
Volunteer with your employer to become a preceptor for student nurses and get a monetary incentive for your time and effort.
We are now accepting submissions for Fall 2023.
- Fiscal year 2022-2023 has closed.
- Submissions are no longer accepted for the 2022-2023 academic year.
Washington State Student Nurse Preceptorship Grant (WSSNPG)
The Washington legislature has set up a grant for student nurse preceptorship. This grant funds nurses who precept nursing students in health care settings.
The amount varies from cycle to cycle, but usually ranges from $500 - $1000 one-time reimbursement per student precepted.
The goal of the preceptor grant program is to:
- Help reduce a shortage of healthcare settings for students.
- Bring more nurses into the workforce.
Who is eligible?
- Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners (ARNP)
- Registered Nurses (RN)
- Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN)
State and Federal government nursing employees:
- You should confirm that you won't violate State or Federal ethics laws before submitting.
- Consider contacting your leadership team to verify.
Requirements to be a student nurse preceptor
To be a nurse preceptor you must:
- Have an active license.
- Have at least one year of clinical or practice experience.
- Be employed at an approved practice site.
- Preceptor promotional flyer (PDF)
- WSSPNG presentation Oct 2023 (PDF)
- WA State Student Nurse Preceptorship Grant policy (PDF)
- WAC 246-840-533
How to qualify for reimbursement
Information on how to get the student nurse preceptor reimbursement.
To qualify for the reimbursement, you must:
- Meet all requirements to be a student nurse preceptor.
- Volunteer to be a student nurse preceptor with your employer.
- Employer must be an approved practice site by an approved education program.
- Complete at least 80 qualifying hours of precepting clinical instruction per student.
- A student nurse preceptor may precept up to 2 students per term.
- Submit all required documents by the reimbursement cycle deadline of your preceptorship. (See Reimbursement cycles table below.)
In addition, your clinical practice hours must:
- Occur in a facility approved by a Washington State nursing program.
- Out-of-state programs don't qualify, even if the clinical hours take place in Washington.
- Be in the final term of clinical for RN and LPN pre-licensure students.
- ARNP students can be in any clinical cycle for reimbursement.
How to apply for reimbursement
- Register for a Statewide Vendor Number (SVN) with the Office of Financial Management (OFM) via the Vendor/Payee Registration Form.
- You must get a personal SWV (we don't accept Business SWVs).
- It can take up to 10 business days to get.
- You only need to apply once - it doesn't expire.
- You must update your SWV number registration information every 2 years to be valid.
- Contact OFM for any contact information changes, such as address, email, phone, etc.
- Tips on Registering for your Statewide Vendor Number (PDF)
- Complete the Certification of Hours (COH) (PDF) form.
- The education program will email the COH form to you when you finish precepting
- The education program will fill out the first page
- The education program Dean or Director will sign the COH form certifying the preceptor hours
- Make sure form is filled out correctly.
- Certification of Hours (COH) form EXAMPLE (PDF)
- Email completed COH form to PGVerifications@doh.wa.gov.
- You must send the COH form by the due date listed in the Reimbursement Cycles (below).
We are currently accepting reimbursement submissions for the Fall 2023 cycle.
Preceptorship end date
|Summer||July 1 - August 31||September 15|
|Fall||September 1 - December 31||January 15|
|Winter||January 1 - March 31||April 15|
|Spring||April 1 - June 30||June 25|
*Deadline is firm. We must receive all required documents and information by this date.
- Preceptorship end date: the timeframe your preceptorship ended in.
- Documentation deadline: date you must have your reimbursement paperwork turned in.
- Statewide Vendor/Payee Services
- Vendor Registration Process-Useful Information
- Statewide Vendor Number Lookup
- Vendor/Payee Direct Deposit
- Example of a completed Certification of Hours (COH) form (PDF)
Online training resources and information on being a preceptor.
Preceptors: Helping new nurses transition to practice
Free self-paced learning module from WABON.
- Developed using materials developed by Shandra L. James, DNP, RN, and the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN).
- Overview of the wide range of roles and responsibilities of the preceptor and suggestions about how to fulfill each role.
Go to course: Preceptors: Helping New Nurses Transition to Practice
Preceptor Education Program (PEP)
Free self-directed interprofessional program created by Western University in Canada.
- 8 interactive learning modules
- Modules include downloadable resources, learning exercises, video case scenarios, and references.
Go to modules: Preceptor Education Program (PEP)
- What is a nursing preceptor?
A nursing preceptor is a practicing licensed nurse who provides personal instruction, training, and supervision for nursing students during clinical rotations.
- Am I eligible to precept a student?
You are eligible to precept a student if you are a licensed LPN, RN, or ARNP that meets requirements of WAC 246-840-533, and employed at an approved clinical practice site. An approved practice site is a facility with an affiliation agreement with an approved Washington state nursing educational program.
- How many times can I apply for this grant?
You can apply for this grant up to 2 times per payment cycle, for a maximum of 8 payments per year.
- I did not get my payment. What do I do?
If it has been 8 weeks or more since you submitted your paperwork you should contact the Preceptor Program directly at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Preceptor Grant Team
- Victoria L. Hayward, MSN, RN, CNOR
- Helen Budde, Preceptor Grant Specialist
- Kaknika Pisith, Administrative Assistant
- Email: email@example.com
- Phone: 564-669-4870, Kaknika Pisith, Administrative Assistant
- Phone: 564-669-1016, Victoria Hayward, MSN, RN, CNOR