Skip to main content

Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) Implementation update

Phase 1 of NLC implementation begins July 24, 2023.

  • This will allow nurses with an active RN or LPN multistate license (MSL) from another state to practice in Washington state.

If you are a nurse with a MLS and are moving to Washington state as your primary state of residency (PSOR or “home state”), you must apply for a Washington state “single state” license until Phase 2.

For more information about Phase 1 and Phase 2:

Important Information

RN & LPN Information:

  • We haven't begun issuing Washington state multistate licenses. This will start during Phase 2.
  • If you have a current Washington state RN or LPN license, you will be able to convert to a MSL during Phase 2.

ARNP Information:

  • The NLC is only available for RN and LPN licenses. (An ARNP Licensure Compact may be available in the future.)
  • If you have a Washington state ARNP license and an active MSL RN license in another state:
    • You won't need to renew your Washington state RN license after July 24, 2023.
    • You must notify us of this transition when you renew your ARNP license by emailing (You can't do this via the online renewal portal, you must email us.)