Washington State’s Board of Nursing
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WA State Student Nurse Preceptorship Grant Policy
2022-2023 Academic Year
*Effective Spring Quarter 2023 Reimbursement Cycle

A. Background and Purpose

The 2022 WA Legislature provided funding of $3 million dollars per fiscal year in the
supplemental budget to the NCQAC to set up a grant program to provide funding to nurses who
volunteer to precept nursing students in health care settings. The goal of the preceptorship grant
program is to help reduce a shortage of health care settings for students to conduct their clinical
hours and bring more nurses into the workforce. (General Fund-State) (Ongoing)

B. Definition of Preceptor WAC 246-840-533

A nursing preceptor means a practicing licensed nurse who provides personal instruction,
training, and supervision (preceptorship) to any nursing student, and meets the following
requirements:

(4) A nursing preceptor may be used in nursing education programs when the nursing
preceptor:

(a) Has an active, unencumbered nursing license at or above the level for which the
student is preparing;

(b) Has at least one year of clinical or practice experience as a licensed nurse at or above
the level for which the student is preparing;

(c) Is oriented to the written course and student learning objectives prior to beginning the
preceptorship

(d) Is oriented to the written role expectations of faculty, preceptor, and student prior to
beginning the preceptorship; and

(e) Is not a member of the student's immediate family, as defined in
RCW 42.17A.005(27); or have a financial, business, or professional relationship that is in
conflict with the proper discharge of the preceptor's duties to impartially supervise and evaluate
the nurse.

C. Eligibility
To be eligible for a nursing preceptorship grant, each applicant must:

e Beaneligible preceptor as outlined in WAC 246-840-533

1. Any WA advanced registered nurse practitioner (ARNP) providing clinical education
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for ARNP students enrolled in a licensed and accredited WA public or private not-
for-profit school of nursing.

2. The ARNP nurse preceptor will complete a minimum of 80 hours of clinical practice
instruction per student in the any term of the clinical experience in a licensed and
accredited WA public or private not-for-profit school of nursing.

3. Any WA licensed registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical nurse (LPN) providing
clinical education for RN or LPN students in a licensed and accredited WA public or
private not-for-profit school of nursing.

4. The RN or LPN preceptor will complete a minimum 80 hours of clinical practice
instruction per student during the last term prior to graduation during the
preceptorship clinical course/experience in a licensed and accredited WA public or
private not-for-profit school of nursing.

5. A nursing preceptor may not precept more than two students per term.
6. Possess a valid and unencumbered state license to practice nursing.

7. Bean LPN, RN, or ARNP employed at an approved clinical practice site with an
affiliation agreement with an approved Washington state nursing educational
program.

8. Possess a social security number (United States Citizen, National, Permanent
Resident, Political Refugee). Only the last 4 digits of the SSN will need to be
provided.

D. Eligible Practice Sites

An eligible practice site is a clinical site that has been approved by a WA State public or private
not-for-profit nursing education program for student clinical practice.

= Clinical hours completed in WA state from out-of-state nursing school programs do
not qualify for incentive reimbursement.

E. Application for Reimbursement

The Nursing Program will:

1. Obtain the Certification of Hours (COH) form from the Deans/Director Resources page
on the NCQAC Education website.

2. Complete the first page of the COH form to verify the preceptor hours.
3. The Nursing Dean/Director portion of the COH form requests information which:

= Verifies of the dates of precepting and position.
= Verifies the faculty responsible for oversight of the student.
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= Verifies qualifying preceptor hours at the end of each term.
= Verifies the number of students the precepted per preceptor.
= Asignature of the nursing program Dean/Director.

The preceptor will:

1.

Register with the Office of Financial Management (OFM) by completing a Vendor/Payee
Registration Form.

= When the preceptor completes the Vendor/Payee Registration Form, the preceptor
will receive a Statewide Vendor Number. A link to the form is available on the
Preceptor Grant website.

= This must be submitted as soon as possible to ensure OFM has plenty of time to
process the registration. OFM typically takes 5-7 business days to process a
registration form that is complete.

= When the registration is complete OFM will send a vendor number to the preceptor.

Incentive payments will be made by check or direct deposit.

= |If the preceptor would like funds directly deposited, a OFM Vendor/Payee Direct
Deposit Authorization Form must be completed. A link to the form is available on the
Preceptor Grant website.

The Vendor/Payee Registration Form must be submitted to OFM to receive payment
from the preceptorship grant program. Once the preceptor receives a Statewide
Vendor Number, they can submit the COH form.

= Payments cannot be authorized without a Statewide Vendor Number.

The Nursing Preceptor portion of the COH form, at a minimum, will include

= Verification of preceptor mailing address, email address, and phone number.
= Verification of birth date.

= Verification of State Vendor Number.

= Verification of Nurse License Number.

= Verification of Last 4-digits of Social Security Number.

= Verifies practice site(s) information.

= Asignature of the preceptor.

F. Certification of Hours/ Definition of Term

= The preceptor will be responsible for tracking their hours and emailing the completed
COH form provided by their affiliate-nursing program to the NCQAC Preceptor
Grant Verification email at PGVerifications@doh.wa.gov.

= Designated due dates for reimbursement cycles will be posted on the Preceptor Grant
Website.
= Term is the end of the quarter (fall, winter, spring, summer). A semester term is
August through December and January through May. May include a summer session.
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G. Available Funds and Award Amounts

The 2022 Legislature appropriated $3,000,000 for fiscal year 2022 and $3,000,000 for fiscal year
2023. The funds are currently ongoing. The funds are provided to the Washington Nursing Care
Quality Assurance Commission (NCQAC) to establish and maintain a grant process to
incentivize nurses to preceptor nursing students in healthcare settings. A portion of the
appropriated funds in the amount of $ 433,576.00 will be deducted to support operational costs.

The amount of the incentive will be determined by the number of preceptors accessing the grant
during the fiscal year. The incentive will be divided among the total qualified preceptors that
complete the specified minimum 80 required hours by the stated deadline. The incentive
amount will vary from year to year.

The Preceptor Grant Program Specialist will review the COH form for completeness and send
approved documents to the Office of Accounting and Grants for payment processing.

H. Reimbursement Cycles

Each payment cycle needs to have documents submitted in order to receive grant funding.

= Nursing Programs will provide the COH form to the preceptor.

= Preceptors will email the COH form by the specified date for the NCQAC to process
for the preceptorship grant.

= The date for completion is dependent on each term and is on the Preceptor Grant
Program Website.

= A student nurse preceptor may apply for reimbursement for up to two students each
reimbursement cycle. The preceptor will precept each student individually for 80
hours per student.

= All submissions need to be received by the deadline stated on the Preceptor Grant
Program Website.

The Grant Program Specialist will review the COH form for completeness prior to disbursement
of funds. The Preceptor Program will disburse preceptor grant funds throughout the academic
year.

I. Required Documentation

All applicants for the preceptor grant funds will require the following documentation:

= COH form (completed by nursing program and preceptor).
= Avalid and unencumbered state license to practice nursing.
= OFM State Vendor Number.

J. Questions

All questions regarding the Washington State Nursing Preceptorship Grant should be directed to
Helen Budde, Preceptor Grant Specialist to the DOH email at helen.budde@doh.wa.gov or by
phone (360) 584-6864.
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