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Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner  
Licensure Requirements 

Application Packet and Fee 

1. Submit a completed application (be sure to fill in all applicable fields). Incomplete
applications may result in delayed processing times.

2. Attach all supporting documentation. All “yes” responses to personal data questions
in the application, require you to attach supporting documentation, such as court
documents and written statements.

3. Include your payment of the non-refundable application fee listed on our website

4. If you previously applied for a healthcare license through the Department of Health
and then changed your name, you must submit a copy of the legal name change
document with this application. Examples of acceptable documentation include a
marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other court documents.

Active Washington State Registered Nurse License 

You must have an active Washington State registered nurse license to be eligible for an ARNP 
license. You may apply for both credentials at the same time.  

Proof of Active National Certification 

You must request to have your national certification sent directly from your certifying body to 
the Nursing Commission. You must have at least one active national certification from the list 
of Nursing Commission approved certifying bodies within WAC 246-840-302. 

Employment Verification of 250 Clinical Practice Hours 

If you graduated more than one year ago AND this is your first ARNP license (you have not 
practiced as an ARNP in another state), you must provide one of the following: 

1. A letter from your employer on employer’s letterhead stating you have completed
250 hours in advanced nursing practice within the last two years.

2. Pay stubs with ARNP title listed. Must add up to at least 250 hours worked within the
last two years. Pay stubs without a title listed must be submitted with your position
description or employment contract.
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https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-840-302
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Official Transcripts 

Ask your nursing education program to mail your transcripts, with your degree and 
graduation date listed, to the Nursing Commission.  

Prescriptive Authority Request 

Graduated less than two years from the date of application 

If you have graduated less than two years from the time of your application date and are 
applying for prescriptive authority, your transcripts must include a course in advanced 
pharmacology.  

Graduated more than two years from the date of application 

If you have graduated less than two years from the time of your application date and are 
applying for prescriptive authority, you must submit proof of 30 hours of pharmacology 
continuing education completed within the last two years.  

For Spouses and Registered Domestic Partners of Military 
Personnel Being Transferred or Stationed in Washington 

Under Washington State law, the spouse or state-registered domestic partner of a service 
member of any branch of the U.S. Military, including National Guard or Reserve, applying for 
a health care professional credential may be eligible for the expedited application process by 
submitting the following: 

1. A copy of your spouse’s or registered domestic partner’s military transfer orders to
Washington state.

2. A copy of your marriage certificate or a copy of a state’s declaration or registration
showing a state registered domestic partnership with a member of the U.S. military.
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FBI Background Check 

Washington state law authorizes the Department of Health to obtain fingerprint background 
checks for licensing purposes. After your application is received, the Nursing Commission will 
email you instructions on the fingerprint process and how to complete and submit prints to 
the Department of Health. You will need to obtain fingerprint cards from the location 
you complete the fingerprinting process. 

The Department of Health completes the check through the Washington State Patrol and the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). A temporary practice permit will be issued after all 
other licensing requirements are met, pending the completion of this process. 

Important Information 

1. We process applications in the order they are received. You may check the status of
your application using Provider Credential Search. A customer service representative
will email you with detailed instructions if anything is missing from your application.

2. You will receive a one-time paper license in the mail seven to ten business days after
issuance.

3. After verifying your active Washington state nursing license on the Department of
Health’s Provider Credential Search, you must enroll with Nursys E-Notify. Select “As
a Nurse” to complete the registration process.

4. Renew your license according to your profession's renewal schedule, up to 90 days
prior to your birthday.

5. Maintain your contact information with the Washington State Department of Health.
To update your information, submit a Contact Information Change Form online.
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https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/providercredentialsearch/
https://www.nursys.com/EN/ENDefault.aspx
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/opinio/s?s=NursingCommissionCICF
https://fortress.wa.gov/doh/opinio/s?s=NursingCommissionCICF
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